Like Mother Like Daughter

I’ve been away for 3 weeks now, and was very happy to be able to Skype with my mom today.

I told her about how it feels to be in a completely foreign place, full of people you don’t know, so far away from your family and close friends, lost in a sea of accents and unfamiliar languages… knowing that this isn’t just for today, just for this week, that you live here now.

She smiled as I told her about how difficult this experience has been for me. Then I realized…

When she was my age, she did the same thing….

(Only she had an arranged marriage and baby on the way).

My mom and I virtually hugging.

My mom and I virtually hugging.

I admire my mom so much, and it really has just now hit me that when she was only 20 years old… she moved from Egypt to the foreign land of Denver, Colorado… and not only that, but she was with a strange man whom she now called her husband. I’m turning 20 in 2 months, and here I am.

It’s just really crazy to think about.

Leave a comment