Your lack of effort is insulting

Brace yourself for my end-of-semeter-rant.

I had two finals today, and during both was insulted by other students lack of effort. Here I am, having stayed up all night and morning and even week to do the best work I could do, only to get to my typography class early and see that 5 other students are literally finishing their books right then. In a few students cases, they finished their books after 20 minutes into the class.

Seriously? I understand procrastination… I’m a pro… but taking up class time to finish your FINAL is just insulting to the instructor and those of us who have to wait for you having went the extra little step to finish it before class ourselves.

Not only that, but I was not impressed by the work of my classmates. I usually have things to say during critique, but this time I sat silently because the work was so bad I couldn’t think of anything positive to partner a constructive piece of feedback with. I don’t even think I’m being over critical. There were glue marks, the books didn’t close, they were half-assed and covered in ink smears, had no covers, wrong page numbers, each typography layout looked the same or like they just threw up on the page… I could NOT believe the lack of effort. My poor teacher who is an industry expert just sits there and has to be nice about it.

In that same class for a different assignment, one girl walks in late and pins up her unmated poster with the pin in the middle of the page. She literally stuck a push pin through the middle of her work, which was also printed on the crappy printer. What does that say about how valuable you think the work you produce is? That girl didn’t even show up today. Theres this other kid that always sits outside during class playing video games and does who knows what on his computer. He rudely sat on his laptop during critique today too. He always tries to find a way to make a problem. “I don’t like that music. I don’t want to do this assignment. I can’t see it from over here in order to answer the question you just asked me that has nothing to do with the small details I can’t see and everything to do with the overall layout. I can’t log in to the server. Your assignments are stupid. I don’t have a flashdrive. I don’t like it.”

CHILD. YOU ARE IN COLLEGE. ACT LIKE AN ADULT. SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO DO THINGS YOU DON’T WANT TO DO FOR THE SAKE OF LEARNING SOMETHING OR PLEASING A CLIENT. HOW DO YOU EXPECT TO GET A JOB. YOUR MOM ISN’T ALWAYS GOING TO PAY YOUR BILLS. STOP COMPLAINING ABOUT IRRELEVANT ISSUES AND DO YOUR WORK.

So many times… so many times… did I have to step in and say something to this kid because he was just so terribly rude to my sweet teacher who has done nothing wrong and everything to try and help him. He bullied her, honestly! It is not okay! I don’t understand how someone could show such a lack of respect to a person who deserves more respect than we can give.

I gave her some Egyptian treats today and put a flower on her desk since it was the last class.

ANYWAYS. I AM INSULTED. I mean, I was so stressed out about my final not being good enough, when in reality it will probably get the highest grade in my class. Why do I have to stress myself out knowing that I can do better, when other kids just stick push pins through the middle of their work and don’t pay any attention to the details that I spend hours on?

On a separate note, I am also very insulted with the lack of effort by my academic advisor. I can’t stand that woman. I physically went into her office 3 weeks ago. There were problems that needed taken care of in order to eliminate registration holds. I took care of them. Came in a few days later and sat down to patiently wait for her crazy butt to register me for the classes I need (after arguing with her about the fact a class she wanted to register me for was NOT on my degree plan and if I’m paying over $1,000 per class I should get to pick my own electives). She finally registered me. A week later emailed me in a rude tone asking if I took care of the hold problems in order to register for summer classeS. I was like, LADY, did I not come in and see you last week to take care of this? She apologized for the email and said yes. TODAY. I GOT 3 ANNOYING PHONE CALLS ABOUT REGISTERING FOR SUMMER CLASSES. DID I NOT ALREADY REGISTER?!?!?!?! I emailed her asking about it. No response. Called and left a voicemail. No response. I can’t deal with this nonesense. How difficult is it to comeplete the ONE job you have which is entering the course codes into your system that I ALREADY PROVIDED FOR YOU. I might end up not taking summer classes because of this nonesense.

Back to original topic: I’ll probably make a separate post for the project itself since it was pretty cool and different from anything I’ve ever done before.

2 thoughts on “Your lack of effort is insulting

  1. I’m a student at RMCAD also and I totally understand where you are coming from. Although it wasn’t so bad in my course this term, I had a couple of classmates who spent the first 20 minutes mounting their work, finishing their work, etc. Then, during the critiques, some of them will go off and have private conversations or would re-enact movie scenes and sing songs if you said a word or phrase that reminded them of it.

Leave a comment