I’m a “Local Tourist”

I find that the phrase “local tourist” is mildly fitting for me. While I am new to this area of Madrid, the city is kind of like any other big city in that it is full of tourist attractions and a big place for people around the world to visit.

I want to check out all of those things too, but I live here now.

IMG_5650

So I get to go to the museums and do the things on days of the week and times of the year when they are not crowded. Notice that there are maybe 3 people in that photo. I remember seeing the Mona Lisa in Paris and it was a zoo just to try to get anywhere near it. Here, I was able to go to the Reina Sofia museum of Modern Art Madrid and walk right up to original Salvador Dalí’s or Pablo Picasso’s and stand there as long as I wanted. I even had time to take a picture of my boyfriend back home in front of some of this notable artwork 😉

10931321_10204886540356728_524253022661087106_n IMG_5675

Not to mention, I tend to get burnt out of museums pretty quick, so I also have the luxury of taking my time on one floor and then coming back another day to check out the other collections.

IMG_5685 IMG_5679

It. Is. Awesome.

3 thoughts on “I’m a “Local Tourist”

Leave a comment